By using “Find My iPhone” service you can locate your iPhone and you can delete your important data all well remotely.
Find My iPhone can be used from any iOS device with the dedicated Find My iPhone app. Alternatively, you can login to iCloud.com and use Find My iPhone from any web browser. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will be using the Find My iPhone app, but note that the steps to erase a lost or stolen iPhone would be the same regardless of whether you use the app or the browser-based version.
Important: Erasing your iPhone should be your last resort because once it’s been erased, you will not be able to use Find My iPhone to locate it.
Requirement: For this tutorial, we will assume that you have activated Find My iPhone on the device you are trying to erase. Obviously, if Find My iPhone is not enabled on the device, you will not be able to find and erase it.
How to erase a lost or stolen iPhone
Step 1: Launch Find My iPhone on any iOS device, such as an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. It’s important to note that the iOS device you use doesn’t have to be yours. You could very well be using your brother’s iPhone to track your lost iPad. What matters is that you login to the Find My iPhone app using the same Apple ID and password as the device you are trying to erase.
Step 2: After logging in, you will see a list of all the iOS devices that are linked to your Apple ID. Tap on the device you are trying to erase to select it. You will now be able to locate the device and even get driving directions to it. At this point, we highly recommend that you put your device in Lost Mode right away.
Step 3: Tap on the “Actions” button at the bottom of the screen to bring up the various options you have. Select “Erase.”
Step 4: You will then be asked to confirm you want to erase your iPhone. Tap on “Erase iPhone…” to confirm.
Step 5: Enter your Apple ID password and tap Next.
Step 6: Now you will have to enter a phone number that will appear on the Lock screen of the iPhone after it’s been erased. This phone number will be used so people who might find your phone can call you to return it to you. Enter the phone number and tap Next.
Step 7: Type in a message that will be displayed along with your phone number on the Lock screen of the device you are about to erase. Tap Done when done.
Step 8: You will now see a message confirming that your iPhone is being erased. Tap OK to dismiss the message.
The device you have selected to erase will now be restored, meaning all the data contained on it will be all deleted. Note that if the device is offline at the time you go through the erasing process, it obviously won’t be erased. It will be erased next time it gets online means until its connected to the internet.
Anyone trying to activate the device will be unable to. Additionally, as long as the device is on and connected to the internet, you will be able to track its location with Find My iPhone.
Apple bought iClould activation lock feature when they released ios 7, IOS 8 also having much more security upgrades. If you want then you can update to ios 8 beta now. You have to register your iPhone iPad iPod to Apple Developer Program first in order to update it to ios 8 beta. We are offering UDID Registration to Apple Developer Account service only for $15usd, to register your iPhone iPad iPod udid to Apple Developer Account Click Here or go to our website iAppleStuffs, then click on UDID Registration. Once you have registered your udid then update to ios 8 beta. Then your device will be activated in ios 8 legititately. but if you update to ios 8 without registering udid then you will be stuck in activation err. So register udid first then update to ios 8.