as a way for iOS users to locate their device in case it was lost or
stolen. It also offers an easy method to remotely delete all the data on
your device to protect sensitive information. It was really a great thing Apple did to iStuffs.
Now They’ve quite a few success stories reported in the media about people using the service to find their lost or stolen devices.
it had a major weakness, it was very easy for someone to erase and
restore the device as a new device, and use it.
There is no new setting to enable or disable Activation Lock, the
feature has been integrated with Find my iPhone, so it will be enabled
automatically when you enable Find My iPhone. To enable Find my iPhone,
go to Settings, scroll down and tap on iCloud, turn on Find my iPhone.
You can be prompted to sign in with your Apple ID. If you had enabled
Find my iPhone before upgrading to iOS 7, then Activation Lock will be
When you enable Find my iPhone in iOS 7, Apple stores your Apple ID
on its Activation services and links it to your device. So going
forward, your password will be required before anyone can turn off Find
My iPhone on your device, erase your device, or reactivate and use your
It is not possible to turn off Find my iPhone without entering the
Apple ID password. This is to ensure that someone who has access to your
iPhone, cannot disable it without your knowledge.
You also can’t restore the device using iTunes. iTunes will inform
you that the device cannot be restored as Find my iPhone is on. So you
need to first turn off Find my iPhone, which as we mentioned earlier,
will prompt you to enter the Apple ID password, and then restore the
device using iTunes.
If someone tries to erase all the content and settings from the
device via the Settings app, he or she will be prompted to enter the
Apple ID password.
Someone can restore the device by putting it in DFU or recovery
mode, however after restoring your device, the person will be prompted
to enter the Apple ID and password during the setup process, so it won’t
be possible to use the device.
Apple has also made improvements to the Lost mode feature in iOS 7.
Now when you remotely wipe the data on your lost or stolen device using
Find my iPhone app, you will still be able to display the custom message
with your phone number on the Lock screen. iTunes will also display
this message when someone connects the device to a computer running
If you are lucky to get your device back, you can reactivate it by
entering your Apple ID and password, and restore it using iCloud or
iTunes if you had remotely wiped the data.
Someone can turn off the device when it is Lost mode, which would
take it off the radar and prevent the device from being tracked. But it
is kind of pointless as the person will have to enter the passcode to
gain access to the device after turning it on.
If you’re planning to sell your device with iOS 7, you should disable Find my iPhone in order to deactivate the Activation Lock. You should also check for Activation Lock before purchasing a used device.
With features like Activation lock, Apple has made it next to impossible
for someone to use your device without entering your Apple ID and
I think this is really a great feature of IOS 7. No one can acess my iPhone even if it’s stole. Yeah !!! I am really happy with this feature.
Factory Unlock your iPhone 5s,5c,5,4s from our website – www.iAppleStuffs.com